ecological footprint

i know you’re probably thinking “another greenie rant?!?” … but bear with me for a minute.

most of the time when i talk to people about sustainability they turn and start pointing things out that i do wrong.  usually this has to do with obvious and car-related, eg.. “you drive a turbo” or “your family drives separate cars to church” or whatever.  and it’s true – my lifestyle is shocking and i won’t hide from it.  i do like driving, i like buying gadgets, i love pearl milk teas and i even enjoy eating sharks fin soup.  i just did another ecological footprint quiz and it says my lifestyle needs 7.8 planet earths to support it (my first said something like 4.6 – it really varies according to the calculator you use – but that’s still bad).  isn’t that ridiculous?

i think most of us YFers have come from a culture that is very consumerist and convenient – take as examples how we want to be up to date with the latest tech, and how we want to have the convenience of using and chucking disposable stuff.  thing is – we don’t need to be commune-living vego hippies (not that there’s anything wrong with them at all) to make a difference. being sustainable doesn’t mean having a bland and boring life.

firstly though, why should we care?  i think the answer is twofold…

  • the idea of stewardship – we know that God created man as having dominion over the earth (see Genesis 1:28).  what matters, then, is what our interpretation of stewardship or dominion is.  it obviously doesn’t mean that we can use everything irresponsibility.  it ALSO doesn’t mean that humans have the same worth as a horse or a starfish or an insect.
    i am not saying that it’s definite sin to live the way we do.  instead, i’m suggesting that it’s our responsibility as Christians to make sure we care of everything that God has created and put us in charge of. what’s your take on it?
  • the idea of social justice – i think we would all agree that Jesus has called us to love everyone, including (or especially) the oppressed and those less fortunate than us.  the consequences of our way of life are ultimately going to affect people.  some island nations will cease to exist in the next 50 years or so.  millions are predicted to become “climate change refugees”.  isn’t that scary? shouldn’t we care?

don’t get me wrong – our priority as Christians, and the Church, is to reach people. but i hope you’re convinced that we can’t be ignorant about God’s creation.  it’s my hope that sustainability becomes an opportunity for the Church to show people that we really do care about them.

so what can we do? i’ve been trying to think of easy first steps that are appealing to us asians (ie saves us money haha).  being a super wasteful consumer myself i will be trying to put these into practice as well…

  • try to drive less and carpool more – this sounds so simple, but i have been able to halve my driving distances in the past year or so 🙂 although my car is a valuable ministry tool so i’m gonna prioritise that and use it as much as i need to
  • say no to plastic – it might involve some washing up after trig/supe/party/church.  or maybe sharing a meal between two at a restaurant so you don’t need a takeaway box…
  • bring a water bottle – QUT z block level 9 has a filtered chilled water tap that doesn’t taste like it’s got 50 years old water pipes. find somewhere like that.
  • fit water efficient showerheads – if you haven’t done so, do it – and save yourself big money (cost ~$100 and save $1800 over its lifetime – more if water prices go up, which they undoubtedly will)
  • try to buy local produce – i know this is hard, because we love our asian snacks, drinks and icecreams.  but when it comes to fruit and vege, just get stuff that’s in season 🙂
  • try to buy natural products – especially when it comes to detergents and whatnot… so many chemicals… why?
  • get a compost bin – i am going to give this a try and let you guys know how it goes

and if you can afford to…

  • switch to green power – costs a little bit extra, but coal power is ridiculously polluting, inefficient and needs crazy amounts of water – which takes lots of electricity to pump and treat – it’s a vicious cycle
  • if you’re ever thinking of building anything, build green – yes i’m an architecture student, and i know green buildings cost 2% more to build on average but their lifetime savings are SO much more.  i will be trying to compile figures to show the church when i finally get my new design proposal done, so let me know if you want me to keep you in the loop.

finally,  just want to leave you with a picture of the maldives… which may not be here by the end of this century

maldives_cocopalm_beach_01

47 Responses to “ecological footprint”

  1. i need 7.05 Earths!

  2. onya Billy (sorry for very delayed reading of this post) – how have you been going with your resolutions??

  3. ooo it’s hard!! struggling a bit with my commute – i save about 2 hours per day if i drive compared to using public transport. i do try and give colleagues a lift home – almost never head home with an empty car – it’s good to chat and serve them through that.

    just need wisdom to know where to draw the line in terms of prioritising sustainability! a lot of blame is on the shoulders of town planners and designers who – by being obsessed with the things that are typically done in the US 20 years ago – really force us to depend on car use. but at the same time, there’s so much more that we can do!

  4. It looks to me that this website doesnt download in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I like this webpage and dont want to have to skip it any time Im away from my computer.

  5. I love that blog site layout . How did you make it. It is very good.

  6. It looks to me that this web site doesnt load up in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I enjoy this website and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.

  7. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  8. If you could email me with some hints about how you made this blog look this cool, I would be thankful.

  9. I think one of your ads initiated my web browser to resize, you may well want to set up that on your blacklist.

  10. I love your wordpress theme, where did you get a hold of it?

  11. buy leather wallets Says:

    I have got 1 idea for your webpage. It looks like at this time there are a number of cascading stylesheet issues while launching a selection of web pages inside google chrome as well as opera. It is working alright in internet explorer. Probably you can double check that.

  12. An interesting post there mate . Cheers for it !

  13. Please message me with a few pointers on how you made your site look this good, I would appreciate it.

  14. buy fridge freezer Says:

    The design for your blog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  15. Re: The person who made the remark that this was an excellent site genuinely needs to possess their head looked at.

  16. Could you message me with a few hints & tips about how you made your blog look like this, I would be thankful.

  17. Good Stuff, do you have a facebook profile?

  18. Have you considered adding some social bookmarking links to these sites. At least for youtube.

  19. Please email me with some hints on how you made this website look like this, Id appreciate it!

  20. You need to really control the responses here

  21. Please message me with any hints & tips on how you made this blog look like this , I would be appreciative.

  22. I was wanting to know if you ever considered replacing the layout of your site? It is very well written; I enjoy what youve got to say. But maybe you could create a a bit more in the way of content so people can connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you can space it out better?

  23. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed is not functioning today. I tried including it to my Bing reader account but got nothing.

  24. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these blogs. At the very least for flickr.

  25. After I start your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of nonsense, is the problem on my side?

  26. Even though I truly like this post, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the end with the third sentence.

  27. I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Rss feed so i could read your web blog offline. Thanks.

  28. Cool post ! Cheers for, posting on my blog page dude. I will email you soon! I did not know that.

  29. Odd , your posting turns up with a black hue to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?

  30. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt functioning today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  31. When I open up your Feed it appears to be to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my side?

  32. Just to let you know your webpage looks a little bit strange in Safari on my notebook using Linux .

  33. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed is not functioning today. I tried including it to my Bing reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  34. How did you make this site look this awesome!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  35. How do you make a site look this good! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

  36. I Will have to return again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Feed so i can go through your site offline. Cheers.

  37. This blog is really cool! How was it made !?

  38. Im getting a small problem. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  39. I like this blog site layout ! How did you make it!? Its very cool.

  40. The look for the weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your website. I may need to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  41. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  42. Even though I genuinely like this post, I think there was an punctuational error shut towards the finish from the third paragraph.

  43. I was wondering if you ever thought of adjusting the design of your website? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to state. But maybe you can add a a bit more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two images. Maybe you can space it out better?

  44. It appears to me that this site doesnt load in a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the same issue? I enjoy this webpage and dont want to have to skip it whenever Im gone from my computer.

  45. You ought to really moderate the commentary on this website

  46. […] Heart and lung conditions – pneumonia, arrhythmias, asthma, COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease), valvular heart disease, coronary heart disease, and congestive heart failure. Sleep problems – working till late at night, jet lag, sleep apnea, narcolepsy, insomnia, and reflux esophagitis. Some jobs are more closely linked to a risk of fatigue than others. Examples include the police, doctors, nurses, firefighters, and shift-workers in general whose sleep patterns are unnatural for humans. The problem of fatigue is exacerbated if the shift-routines are regularly changed. Infectious diseases, infections – malaria, various tropical diseases, TB (tuberculosis), infectious monocucleosis (glandular fever), Cytomegalovirues, HIV infection, flu, and hepatitis. Chemicals and substances – vitamin deficiencies, mineral deficiencies, poisoning. ndc for kenalog 10 mg buy dutasteride avodart prescription drug janumet ic bupropion hcl 75 mg tablet where can i buy bupropion how much do renovations cost nz prednisolone arrow 20 mg posologie percocet rx dosage inderal 40 mg astrazeneca inderal 40 mg stress nizoral shampoo prescription strength 2 harga norvasc 10 mg metformin-ratiopharm 500 mg renovacao da cnh detran mg where can you buy an african mango prednisolone kela 20 mg percocet online sale lamictal price increase lamictal 50 mg vidal 50 mg of lamictal can you order percocet from canada Consuming too many caffeinated or alcoholic beverages may make it harder to get to sleep, or stay asleep, especially if you drink them close to bedtime. Various diseases, conditions, states and treatments – cancer, chemotherapy, radiotherapy (radiation therapy), chronic fatigue syndrome, fibromyalgia, systemic lupus, rheumatoid arthritis, obesity, massive blood loss, and weakened immune systems. Chemotherapy for breast cancer most likely is the cause of prolonged fatigue years after their treatment, scientists at the Moffitt Cancer Center found. Chronic pain – patients with chronic pain typically wake up tired, even after having slept for a long time. furosemide get high buy prednisolone uk is there 15 mg percocet janumet 50 500 mg para sirve vimax pills price in malaysia why does lamictal cost so much pms-prednisolone 5 mg keppra mg/ml buy janumet cheap order generic inderal how to buy avodart buy cytotec manila nizoral over the counter australia comprar avodart 0 5mg norvasc 5 mg tb januvia 25 mg price average cost to renovate a bathroom do people buy percocet online vimax pills for cheap order of home renovation where to buy panoxyl in singapore price for 5-325 mg percocet keppra where to buy vimax detox price in lebanon where can i purchase nizoral shampoo where can i buy furosemide online norvasc prescription drug furosemide 40 mg bodybuilding furosemide mk 40 mg vimax online buy keppra 500 mg dosage […]

Leave a comment