Music

Hellooooo everybody

Sorry if I killed the convo in the last post with my hardcore reply (hahah – see below).  Anyway I thought I’d share some Christian music with you… for anyone who’s interested.

I know music is a subjective thing, but I’d def encourage you to check out some good Christian music if you don’t listen to them already.  Firstly because some of the artists are ridiculously talented (ie it actually sounds awesome and more than holds its own against secular music), and secondly because I believe listening to songs that encourage you and build you up (instead of good sounding stuff with dodgy themes.. we all know how prevalent that is these days) will help you in your walk.

The first I’ll share is this song by Anthony Evans – he’s gotta be one of my favourite artists ever.  He’s got an awesome and super smooth voice – but what sets him apart is that you can really see his heart for God in his music.  You won’t always find that in the “Christian” music world (don’t know if I’m being too harsh, but that term is used WAY too loosely sometimes)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Next up – Brooke Fraser – I have no words, except to say that… she’s awesome… super talented

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Just to back up my comment that “Christian” music can be a little bit questionable sometimes…

Vodpod videos no longer available.
OK that’s all for today… I just wanted to show that Christian music CAN be different from the usual praise/worship/pop rock kinda stuff which people tend to think are the usual stereotypes. But at the same time, let me encourage you guys to be discerning about what you choose to listen to, because there’s heaps of great stuff – and a LOT more not-so-great stuff – out there.  And I really do believe that what you expose yourself to will have an effect on your walk – even if you’re listening to particular songs just because it sounds good or has a good beat.

(I do concede that I am speaking from personal experience… but it’s undeniable that the themes about women, money, and life as a whole – in stuff like r&b and rap – are often so twisted and poisonous!!)

Keep running strong everybody 🙂
Billy

3 Responses to “Music”

  1. Grace Tai Says:

    wow those ‘gospel gangstaz’ bug me a lot!

  2. i like the big dude with the pigtails

  3. I ❤ Brooke Fraser…

Leave a Reply

